The Principles of Ayurveda

The science of positive health and fulfilment in life, Ayurveda is based on the principle that everything in the universe is composed of five basic elements:

– Space
– Fire
– Water
– Air
– Earth

These five basic elements are known as Pancha Mahabhuta.

These five elements combine with each other, resulting in three bio-physical forces within the human body:

– Vata (air and space)
– Pitta (fire and water)
– Kapha (water and earth)

Individually, these bio-physical forces are known as Doshas. Together, they are known as Tri-Dosha. The Tri-Dosha govern all of the biological, physiological, and psychological functions of the mind and body, as well as effecting how interact with everything around us.

We all have all three of these bio-physical forces within us, but the dominant forces make up our constitution (Prakriti). The principle of Ayurveda is to treat the mind and body according to your Dosha.

Get in touch to find out more about our Ayurveda treatments or to book your consultation.